National Stock Exchange [NSE] Trading Holidays 2021

NSE Holidays: The list of National Stock Exchange holidays for 2021 includes the national holidays and the regional public holidays in India. These Trading Holidays are most important for traders those willing to trade financial instruments through NSE.

National Stock Exchange Holidays

NSE has five working days in a week, i.e., Monday to Friday. The national stock exchange remains closed on all Saturdays. While the exchange starts its operations at 9:15 am, closes at 3:30 pm on business days. This NSE holiday list will help you plan and calendar the services offered by NSE.

NSE Holidays 2021 are:

26 Jan 2021TuesdayRepublic Day
11 Mar 2021ThursdayMahashivratri
29 Mar 2021MondayHoli
02 Apr 2021FridayGood Friday
14 Apr 2021WednesdayDr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti
21 Apr 2021WednesdayRam Navami
13 May 2021ThursdayId-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)
21 Jul 2021WednesdayBakri Id
19 Aug 2021ThursdayMoharram
10 Sep 2021FridayGanesh Chaturthi
15 Oct 2021FridayDussehra
05 Nov 2021FridayDiwali-Balipratipada
19 Nov 2021FridayGurunanak Jayanti

National Stock Exchange Holidays 2021 on Saturday / Sunday

25 Apr 2021SundayMahavir Jayanti
01 May 2021SaturdayMaharashtra Day
15 Aug 2021SundayIndependence Day
02 Oct 2021SaturdayMahatma GAndhi Jayanti
25 Dec 2021SaturdayChristmas

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on Sunday, 05 Nov 2021 on the occasion of Diwali. Timings of Market Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently by the National Stock Exchange in advance for this Trading Holidays NSE.

If you are trading on other exchanges like BSE or MCX than you must read the following:

NSE Market Timings

Trading on the equities segment takes place on all days of the week (except Saturdays and Sundays and holidays declared by the National Stock Exchange in advance). The market timings of the equities segment are:

Pre-open Timings to Trade Equities on NSE

  • Order entry & modification Open : 09:00 hrs
  • Order entry & modification Close : 09:08 hrs*

Note: With random closure in the last minute. Pre-open order matching starts immediately after the close of pre-open order entry.

Regular trading Timings to Trade Equities on NSE

  • Normal / Limited Physical Market Open: 09:15 hrs
  • Normal / Limited Physical Market Close: 15:30 hrs

Block Deal Session Timings:

  • Morning Block Deal Window: This window shall operate between 08:45 AM to 09:00 AM.
  • Afternoon Block Deal Window: This window shall operate between 02:05 PM to 2:20 PM.

The Closing Session is held between 15.40 hrs and 16.00 hrs

Note: The Exchange may, however, close the market on days other than the above schedule holidays or may open the market on days originally declared as holidays as per requirements. The Exchange may also extend, advance, or reduce market trading hours when it deems fit and necessary.

Source: National Stock Exchange

National Stock Exchange

The National Stock Exchange (NSE) is an Indian stock exchange situated in Mumbai. NSE is the first stock exchange to introduce the computerized trading system in India. In the year 1994, the exchange started its operations in the country. World Federation of Exchanges recognized NSE, as the largest stock exchange in terms of yearly equity trading turnover.

The National Stock Exchange provides a fully integrated digital trading module consisting of data feed offerings, technology-oriented services, settlement and clearing services, online trading services, services for financial literacy, etc.

Product lines of NSE

NSE offers a huge amount of products. To make it simple, the products offered by NSE can be clubbed into 4 categories. They consist of Capital Markets, Trackers, Debt Instruments and Derivatives.

  1. The derivatives segment of NSE consists of stock derivatives, currency derivatives and NSE bond futures.
  2. The products, those are traded in the capital market via NSE include Stocks, Mutual Funds and Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs), Offer for Sale and Indices.
  3. Debts segment consists of Corporate Bonds and NSE EBP.
  4. The Trackers segment of NSE consists of Bank Nifty, India VIX and Overseas Indices.

NSE Holidays FAQs

Is Indian Stock Market Open Today?

The Indian Stock Market remains closed on all Saturdays and Sundays except Muhurat Trading on Diwali. While the exchange starts its operations at 9:15 am, closes at 3:30 pm on business days.

What time NSE Market Closed?

The national stock exchange starts its operations at 9:15 am, closes at 3:30 pm on business days. The exchange remains closed on all Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays.

Is Stock Market Open on Diwali?

The Stock Market (NSE and BSE) conduct Muhurat Trading Session on the auspicious occasion of Diwali that is held between 05:30 pm to 06:30 pm.

Is Market closed on Saturday?

Yes, the Stock Market remains closed on all Saturdays. It only opens for Muhurat Trading on Diwali, if it falls on Saturday.

How many days a week is Market open?

The Stock Market and both the Stock Exchanges(i.e. NSE & BSE) remain open for Five Days a week from Monday to Friday.

What time is Muhurat Trading?

Muhurat trading used on conduct on the auspicious occasion of Diwali every year. Muhurat Trading on Diwali will be conducted between 05:30 pm to 06:30 pm in 2021.

What is NSE Pre Opening Session?

Pre-open Timings to Trade Equities on NSE are – Order entry/modification Opens at 09:00 hrs and Order entry/modification Closes at 09:08 hrs*.

Zelman Yakubov

About the author

Hi, I am Zelman Yakubov, an expert stock market trader. My goal is to educate and mentor people that wants to learn the financial trading markets. In my free time I love to go out for various different entertainment and try new restaurants.

Leave a Comment